New to MOAC

Home Forums Hiking New to MOAC

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Paula
      Participant

Hello, my name is Paula and I am new to MOAC. I’d like to acquire skills for hiking elevations specifically. I walked the Camino de Santiago in 2019 and have a pack, yet do not know what to carry, what my first mountain should be, etc..? Suggestions? About me: I have never been even moderately athletic, yet would like to get in better shape, but most importantly, learn to hike. Monday-Friday are the best days in summer for me…that will change in September. I have curvature of the spine and pronated legs which create challenges however hasn’t stopped me do too much, and my pace is “world’s oldest tortoise”. When an event is posted, is there a spot or person I can ask specifics? Hope to meet you soon! -Paula

• This topic was modified 1 month, 4 weeks ago by Paula. Reason: Checked-'notify me of follow-up replies'
      • This topic was modified 1 month, 4 weeks ago by Paula. Reason: spell correction
      Bill
      Participant

Hi Paula, and welcome to MOAC. I’ve been leading quite a few moderate hikes in the last year, but have been “slacking off” lately because I’ve been really busy. If you want to come to Summerfest this weekend at Camden Hills State Park, there is an after lunch “Slowpoke” hike that’s about 2.5 miles and 1000 feet elevation gain. If you’re interested, contact the trip leader. Summerfest would also be a good chance to meet other MOAC members. Please feel free to contact me directly at wdbriggs10@gmail.com, and we can “chat” more. Bill Briggs

Paula
        Participant

Hi Bill, thank you for reaching out! I am not sure I can make summerfest yet will be so close, in Bristol. However “slowpoke” sounds as thought it is right up my molasses alley, where I have been called “pokie” before! I Live in the Yarmouth area and put poles, etc. in the car before I leave tomorrow for Bristol just in case.

Marc
      Participant